+ Miss Universe 2008

.+ [ Miss Universe 2008 ] +.

Miss Universe 2008, the 57th Miss Universe beauty pageant,
was held at the Crown Convention Center (Diamond Bay Resort)
in Nha Trang, Vietnam on July 14, 2008
where Dayana Mendoza, Miss Venezuela was crowned by outgoing
titleholder Riyo Mori of Japan. Mendoza, 22, is 178-centimeters
(five feet, ten inches) tall, with ideal measurements.

Eighty contestants competed in the event which was broadcasted
and distributed globally via NBC in English and Telemundo
in Spanish to TV outlets in more than 180 countries. The pageant
was watched by a live audience of 7,500 and nearly
a billion television viewers worldwide.

This is the first major USA-based television production to take place
in Vietnam since the end of the Vietnam War. This is also the first time
that the Miss Universe pageant was broadcast in 1080i High-definition.

The final presentation show was on July 8, the dress rehearsal
on July 13 and the live telecast on July 14. Most activities
were held successively in Ho Chi Minh City, Ha Noi, Da Nang,
Hoi An, Ha Long and finally Nha Trang.

Jerry Springer, tabloid talk show host and host of
NBC's America's Got Talent, and Melanie Brown, a.k.a. "Scary Spice",
member of the UK pop group Spice Girls and host of TLC's
The Singing Office, presented this year's competition. Lady GaGa,
22 year-old performer and songwriter, performed her single Just Dance.

Final Results - Contestant

Miss Universe 2008 - Venezuela - Dayana Mendoza
1st Runner-up
- Colombia - Taliana Vargas
2nd Runner-up - Dominican Republic - Marianne Cruz
3rd Runner-up - Russia - Vera Krasova
4th Runner-up - Mexico - Elisa Najera

Special Awards

Final Competition Night

Miss Congeniality: Rebeca Moreno (El Salvador)

Best National Costume
Winner: Gavintra Photijak (Thailand)
Top 10 finalists: Matilda Mecini (Albania), Taliana Vargas (Colombia),
Marianne Cruz (Dominican Republic), Simran Kaur (India),
Zana Krasniqi (Kosovo), Elisa Najera (Mexico), Karol Castillo (Peru),
Tansey Coetzee (South Africa), Dayana Mendoza (Venezuela),
Nguyễn Thùy Lâm (Vietnam).

Best in Bikini - Queen of Vinpearl
Winner: Elisa Najera (Mexico)
Top 5 finalists: Taliana Vargas (Colombia), Simran Kaur (India),
Claudia Moro (Spain), Crystle Stewart (USA).

Best in Áo dài
Winner: Dayana Mendoza (Venezuela)
Runner-ups: Simran Kaur (India), Nguyễn Thùy Lâm (Vietnam),
Gavintra Photijak (Thailand), Alfina Nasyrova (Kazakhstan)

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -